Piano Redesign, Show Room Items

My idea, Don’s creation

Piano Shelf

The piano story is the Perfect story to explain how Don and I work. Don called me a couple of weeks ago to tell me he had found a small grand piano with no legs and asked if I had any ideas for it and of course I did. We started planning and creating the bookshelf and in true Don fashion he got started right away. He has spent most of the past two weeks working on it. When he called to say he had it done he told me he had a surprise for me. When we were unloading the bookshelf I was shocked to see that he had made a desk out of the scrap lumber from the piano.

Piano Desk

To me this piece is even more amazing then the bookshelf. He used the lid from the piano for the desk top the flip up key cover for the back of the desk and then for the drawer area he used half of an old dresser (the kind that had two sides and a big mirror in the middle of it. Our grandmothers all had one of these) and then the handles on the drawers are made out of old piano keys. Both of these pieces are one of a kind and I am so happy with the way they turned out.

Leave a Reply

